GSK shine brightest at the SMART Awards 2016


GSK shine brightest at the SMART Awards 2016

GlaxoSmithKline was the big winner at the SMART Awards 2016 scooping the top prize of Best Company. Hosted by Hugh Dennis and Pharmacy Magazine editor Richard Thomas, the awards took place at the lavish Hilton Metropole in Birmingham on 9 February.

“GSK were honoured to win Best Overall Company and I think this is testament to huge effort that has taken place in integrating the old GSK and Novartis consumer businesses into New GSK. To receive recognition through such as period of change is incredible for our organisation and I cannot describe the excitement in our office this morning as I shared the news on our successes,” said Andy Gill, pharmacy director, GSK Consumer Healthcare.

The Smart Awards recognises pharma companies for their training and marketing activities in pharmacy over the course of 2015, as well as their engagement and support of multiple and independent pharmacies and students.

The event, run by P3’s publisher, CIG, and sponsored by Numark, was also successful for Johnson & Johnson, who took home three awards, including Best Pharmacy Student Support and Best Overall Brand for Aveeno.

Other winners included HRA Pharma, SCA Hygine and RB

Judges’ Awards

Best Education & Training

Winner: ellaOne, HRA Pharma Runner-up: Dermalex, Omega Pharma

Best Brand Promotion

Winner: TENA Men, SCA Hygiene Runner-up: Aveeno Daily Moisturising Lotion, Johnson & Johnson

Best Product Launch

Winner: ellaOne, HRA Pharma Runner-up: TENA Men Protective Shield, SCA Hygiene

Best Consumer Marketing (small budget)

Winner: TENA Men "Keep Control”, SCA Hygiene Runner-up: Nurses

Best Consumer Marketing (large budget)

Winner: Aveeno, Johnson & Johnson Runners-up: Nexium Control, Pfizer - Nurofen Express, RB

Best Digital Initiative

Winner: Durex “When it’s on, it’s on”, RB Runner-up: Nurofen for Children, RB

Voted by NPA (The National Pharmacy Association) Best Independent Community Pharmacy Healthcare Innovation

Bush Pharmacy

Voted by members of BPSA (British Pharmaceutical Students’ Association) Best Pharmacy Student & Pre-Reg Support

Johnson & Johnson

Voted for by the readers of Pharmacy Magazine, Training Matters, P3 & Independent Community Pharmacist

Best Support for Independent Pharmacy

Winner: GlaxoSmithKline Runner-up: RB

Best Support for Multiple Pharmacy

Winner: Johnson & Johnson Runners-up: GlaxoSmithKline & RB

Best Overall Brand

Winner: Aveeno, Johnson & Johnson Runner-up: Bronchostop, Omega Pharma

Best Overall Company

Winner: GlaxoSmithKline Runner-up: Johnson & Johnson

Lifetime Achievement Awards Outstanding Contribution to OTC Industry

Trevor Gore (formerly RB) David Mitchell (formerly Johnson & Johnson)

Terry Norris Award

Dennis Pay, Managing Director, Paydens Pharmacy

Record my learning outcomes