Independent pharmacies have the opportunity to show their contribution to their local community through a national awards scheme for small businesses from the retail rewards organisation Nectar.

BBC ‘Dragon’, businesswoman and consumer champion, Sarah Willingham (pictured below right with last year's community award winner) joins the judging panel this year, which also includes Shannon Diett, VP marketing at DHL and Will Shuckburgh, managing director of Nectar.

Social media will play a vital role in helping determine the winner of the Contribution to the Community Award; with public votes acting as the seventh judge. Facebook fans of the Nectar Business page ( will be able to watch video case studies of the shortlisted companies and have their say on who they feel should win.

Winners in the 8th annual Nectar Business Small Business Awards will join a roundtable event featuring the scheme’s judges. They will meet the judging panel, discuss key industry topics and receive tailored advice and insight to help drive their businesses forward. Winners from each of the Award’s eight categories will receive £2,000 cash and 50,000 Nectar points.

Other categories, all free to enter, include Small Business of the Year, Innovation of the Year and Entrepreneur of the Year.

Businesses are encouraged to download an entry form. Completed forms can be returned up to 10 July 2016.


Little change in asthma care stats, says charity

Almost two thirds of the 5.4 million people living with asthma in the UK are not receiving basic levels of care, a repor...

Decriminalisation law due to come into effect in April

A legal defence against inadvertent dispensing errors is now closer to being signed into law, having been signed by the ...